Welcome to our Weekly Newsletter where we share relevant information with you about what has been happening here at Bracken Leas and events planned in future weeks.

You may have noticed a rather large vehicle in the school playground this morning! DHL are in school undertaking truck awareness training primarily with our Year 3,4 & 5 children.

We started planning with them before the pandemic and it’s great to finally welcome them to school.

The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Celebrations at Bracken Leas 

We are pleased to launch our plans for celebrating the Platinum Jubilee here at Bracken Leas. We will be celebrating as a school with a whole school picnic on Friday 27th May. Children will be invited to wear red, white and blue on this day and to create their own Jubilee Crown to wear with prizes for the most tip top crowns across the school. This event will not replace the summer picnic which will take place before the end of the summer term and to which parents will be invited to join us. 

Brackley Carnival – Saturday 4th June

FOBL are taking part in the last Brackley Carnival on the 4th June 10.15 on behalf of our school. Their chosen theme is Royalty. The children can use the crowns they make for our PLatinum Jubilee day celebrations and dress up as kings, queens, princesses, princes, knights or jesters, their favourite member of royalty from the past or present, or anything else at all royalty related. We would love as many of you as possible to take part in what will sadly be the last carnival, and which also departs from our school field.

FOBL representatives will be in the playground over the next two weeks so that you can sign up your children (and yourselves!) All children taking part must be accompanied by an adult.

FOBL are also having a stall at the carnival to raise money for our school and are looking for tombola items. Donations can be left at the school office and we’ll have trollies out daily at drop off from 19th May until the end of term.

Vacancies

There are currently a number of vacancies across the Hawksmoor Learning Trust and at Bracken Leas. Please click on the link for more details on how to apply.

Music Lesson Timetable

(Details about music lessons to be advised)

  • Monday – Guitar (am), Funkey’s (pm)

  • Tuesday – Strings (pm)

  • Wedneday – Singing Lessons (pm), Funkeys (pm)

  • Thursday – Woodwind (am)

  • Friday – Brass (am), Keyboard (pm)

Term Dates 2021-2022

Here is a link to term dates for the forthcoming academic years.

https://www.brackenleasschool.co.uk/2021_2022-Term-Dates.pdf

Term Dates 2022-2023

Academic Year 2022_2023 Term Dates

Key Dates For Next Term

Monday 16th May- Friday 20th May – Year 6 Residential

Monday 23rd May – Class Photos

Friday 27th May – Last Day of Term – Bracken Leas Jubilee Celebrations

Monday 6th June  – Queen’s Jubilee School Holiday Day – School Closed

Tuesday 7th June – First Day of Term

Friday 10th June – Year 5 Trip to Cotswold Wildlife Park

Wednesday 15th June – Winchester House Mini Olympics – Year 5

Thursday 16th June – Year 2 Trip to Stowe (Details TBC)

Friday 17th June – Warrior Challenge

Monday 27th June – EYFS & KS1 Sports Day (pm)

Tuesday 28th June – KS2 Sports Day (pm)

(Please note that there are 2 Reserve Sports Days on 11th & 12th July should these be needed due to bad weather)

Wednesday 29th June – EYFS Trip to Twycross Zoo

Thursday 30th June – Year 4 Trip to Chedworth Roman Villa

Thursday 30th June – FOBL Disco

Monday 4th July – Thursday 7th July – Magdalen Induction for Year 6

Tuesday 12th July & Wednesday 13th July – Year 6 Performance

Wednesday 13th July @2.15-3pm – Picnic for new EYFS Families

Friday 15th July – Reports to Parents

Friday 15th July – School Summer Picnic (pm)

Wednesday 20th July @6pm – Summer Music Concert

Thursday 21st July – Year 6 Leavers Assembly @9.30-11.00

Thursday 21st July – Year 6 Leavers Festival (eve)

Friday 22nd July – Last Day of Term

Print Friendly, PDF & Email